Not Just Russians: Britain’s Webcam Computer Spies

I had this experience the other night whilst signing a leftist petition. Without touching my computer the video cam activated. I immediately switched off my router and then switched back on and changed my access password. Several attempts have been made to hack my computer and they have been successful without me knowing. I keep checking my account and there is constant attempts to access from three main IPs addresses So as far as I am concerned you are right in what you are blogging

Beastrabban\'s Weblog

One of the major stories over the past week or so has been that a Russian website is showing hacked images from webcams from around the world, including about 600 or so from Britain. This has naturally caused alarm at the way the potential exists for people’s private computers to be attacked and used to spy on them.

The Russians, however, are not the first or only people to have developed and used such software. In its ‘In the Back’ section for the 22nd August – 4th September issue of this year, Private Eye published a story about the use of similar software developed by a British company. This was being used by the Bahraini government to spy on and persecute dissidents. Here’s the story.

Bahrain Shower

New documents reveal that expensive British spy software – marketed as a means of tracking “paedophiles and terrorists” – has been used by…

View original post 1,161 more words

Leave a Reply

